Author Topic: Insulated vs non-insulated ice shelter  (Read 46727 times)

Offline kratoct

• IceShanty Rookie
Insulated vs non-insulated ice shelter
« on: Dec 01, 2012, 10:13 PM »
After having a homemade wooden shanty over the years, I've considered getting a pop-up this year. Before i worry about the specifics, I want to determine if its worth limiting my options and spending the extra cash on a thermal/insulated ice  shelter, or just sticking with the non-insulated/non-thermal. I've been looking primarily at the Eskimos and the Clams. I like that the Eskimos have the nice YKK zippers but how the Clams have the 600D material and the Eskimos only have 300D.

I fish in northern lower Michigan, usually for smelt and walleye, not much spearing. I'm looking to find one that fits about 5 people. Looking for easy set up, tear down and transport and something durable. I'm new to the whole pop-up ice shelter thing so any input is appreciated. Besides for hearing your input on thermal vs non-thermal, I'd also really like recommendations and preferences.

Models I'm considering:
Eskimo Fatfish 949, 949i, and 9416
Eskimo Quickfish 4
Eskimo Quickfish 6
Clam Command Post
Clam Summit
Clam Six Pack 1550 and 1660
Clam Bigfoot XL2000
Clam Bigfoot XL4000T

Offline bquick

• Team IceShanty Addict
Re: Insulated vs non-insulated ice shelter
« Reply #1 on: Dec 01, 2012, 10:23 PM »
A bit pricey but definitely worth checking out before you settle on either of the two companies that you are looking at.  I love the one I just got.

http://canvascraftinc.com/ice-houses

Offline strike1st

• Team IceShanty Regular
« Reply #2 on: Dec 01, 2012, 10:27 PM »
I bought the shappell widehouse 6500 for this season it's made with 600D.if its too big they also make the 5500. I bought mine at sportsmansguide. Plus shappell is a Michigan company. (seeing you are a fellow Michigander)

I put mine up and man is it nice. If need be Shappells replacement parts are cheap (for after the warranty period)