Author Topic: does blue matter  (Read 3485 times)

Hardwaqterhunter

does blue matter
« on: Feb 06, 2004, 07:19 PM »
i am an ice fishing rookie. yes i'll admit i suck, but i want to know if it mater what line i use. i have blue ice line on my tip ups. does the color matter, or does it not? ??? :'(

nuke1neil

Re: does blue matter
« Reply #1 on: Feb 06, 2004, 07:43 PM »
CTHWH,i use black or white braided line with a leader of mono 24"-36" long.what are you fishing for?i don't think pike care about color but other fish do.with the mono i'm fishing for panfish.give us a few more details.n1n

nuke1neil

« Reply #2 on: Feb 06, 2004, 07:45 PM »
P.S. we were ALL rookies at one time!

Hardwaqterhunter

« Reply #3 on: Feb 06, 2004, 07:49 PM »
nuke1neil i fish for trout, and other panfish. i use blue mono for the leader, not blue braided line. i was wondering if i should change to vanish or other clear line. thanks. ;) :'(

Offline kingfshr16

• Team IceShanty Addict
  • Hardwater Nut!
« Reply #4 on: Feb 06, 2004, 08:29 PM »
I would change to clear line, some days flourocabon actually does make a difference to finicky trout and panfish, they can both be really finicky and hard to catch.
Jason

Hardwaqterhunter

« Reply #5 on: Feb 07, 2004, 07:17 AM »
THANKS!!!!!!! :D :'(

Offline Icephishnphreek

• Team IceShanty Regular
  • I come from the land of Lizards
« Reply #6 on: Feb 07, 2004, 10:35 AM »
I use 30 pound black ice fishing line and I use 24 to 30 inch floro leaders for all my tip ups. And make sure your hooks match the size bait you are using too. Good Luck

Offline billditrite

• Iceshanty Retired Mod
  • Team IceShantyholic
  • R.I.P. Bobberstop 6-14-1944 ~ 7-21-2010
« Reply #7 on: Feb 11, 2004, 04:45 PM »
I ALWAYS USE A MONO LEADER OF AT LEAST 4 ' ON MY TIP UPS SO THE FISH DONT SEE THE LINE,I ALSO MAKE SURE MY BACKING LINE IS A LIGHT COLOR SO YOU CAN SEE IT WHEN YOU LOOK IN THE HOLE.WHEN THAT BROOKIE  RUNS I WANT TO KNOW WHICH WAY ;)

Offline JT