Author Topic: I need advice !!  (Read 2891 times)

Offline ledy

• IceShanty Rookie
I need advice !!
« on: Jan 20, 2014, 09:06 PM »
So I have been fishing for rainbows in this spot on Winni for about 10 years and it has been productive. Its shallow about 2' to 3' deep with sandy bottom. I have had most of my success with salmon eggs with an occasional power bait bite. Over the years when I cleaned out the fish the stomachs would be full of salmon eggs. Well this year things are different and I'm not sure what is going on. To start me and my friend have a combined 10 days with 1 rainbow on the ice!! The last 3 days I fished I haven't even got a flag which is way out of the norm for this spot, because this place has produced for years. There is one big difference this year than in any year in the past and that is the presence of loads of smelt under the ice in the area I'm fishing. Every whole I drill has a schools of smelt below them, I could literally take a net and probably scoop them up. I have never seen this in the past 10 years in this spot, and I think it's definitely affecting me catching Bow's!! The couple fish that have been caught by us and neighbors were full of smelt and no salmon eggs. I know that should be no surprise. These fish won't touch salmon eggs or anything. I'm hesitant to use smelt because I figure there are hundreds if not thousands under the ice already so what are the chances they would eat the one on my hook? Anyway, I'm totally frustrated  :o and basically don't no what to do other than to move my shanty to a new location. Has anyone ever seen this before and have any advice?

Offline TheOutdoorsman

• Team IceShanty Maniac
Re: I need advice !!
« Reply #1 on: Jan 20, 2014, 09:26 PM »
It wouldn't hurt to try smelt.  A smelt on a hook acts different than a healthy, free-swimming smelt and looks like an easier-to-catch meal.  You've fished enough days without success using your current baits, so switch it up!