Author Topic: What am I doing wrong?  (Read 2357 times)

Offline TheCrittaC

• Team IceShanty Addict
  • Set the hook!
What am I doing wrong?
« on: Dec 30, 2010, 09:55 PM »
Every time I try to jig something up, I see the fish come up off bottom (I have a Vexilar), kinda look at my jig, then go back down. I've tried rapid pulsating of the jig, slight twitches and even keeping the thing still. This is the case for crappies, yellow perch, white perch, you name it. Any advice would be heavily appreciated.

Offline tipup_time

• Team IceShanty Regular
  • JIFFY POWER!!
Re: What am I doing wrong?
« Reply #1 on: Dec 30, 2010, 10:11 PM »
i am not an expert but im learning fast... keep working at it and dont give up.. two weeks ago i was posting the same question.. just keep trying, switch baits, put a fresh minnowhead on, sooner or later youll get one and then youl get a feel for it.
When hell freezes over Ill Ice fish there too

Offline Van_Cleaver

• Team IceShanty Maniac
« Reply #2 on: Dec 30, 2010, 10:12 PM »
You may not be doing anything wrong; sometimes the fish are in a negative mood, and just plain hard to catch. I would immediately switch to a different or smaller jig. I always have a minimum of five rods rigged with different jigs and and small spoons. Try some bare plastic if you haven't already. Check your jig in the hole and make sure your line isn't too twisted, spinning baits are a real turn off. Try fishing at first or last light; that should increase your chances of catching a good "bite''. Have different baits on hand, and switch up : spikes, wax worms, and mousies are a good start. Move to a totally different spot, or consider another lake or pond. If guys are whacking them around you, strike up a conversation and see if they will help. I always try to help as long someone isn't rude or loud first. If none of that works you may want to have an adult beverage or two. ;)

Offline tipup_time

• Team IceShanty Regular
  • JIFFY POWER!!