Author Topic: Ice Camping with Buddy Heater in Eskimo fatfish 6120i  (Read 4392 times)

Offline IceAddict87

• Team IceShanty Addict
I am gearing up for ice season and this year I’m hoping to go on a few trips out of my home area. I am going on a trip to South Dakota in January with a big group but I plan to go an extra day by myself. Because I’m so cheap I’m thinking about setting up my hub shack on a lake and staying the night to fish for some walleyes. There are all kinds of conflicting views about buddy heaters in tents and confined spaces but after watching some YouTube videos on the subject I am not sure what to believe. Most used carbon monoxide detectors to prove that there was not an issue, I’m not convinced. I have a cot and a good zero degree sleeping and I don’t plan to use the heater while I’m sleeping but if it’s real cold I might. What are some of your experiences with using heaters like this?

Offline slipperybob

• Team IceShantyholic
  • LX5 or die...maybe extra battery.
Re: Ice Camping with Buddy Heater in Eskimo fatfish 6120i
« Reply #1 on: Oct 15, 2019, 10:59 PM »
I did the sleeping all by myself in the popup shelter before.  I had actually turned my heater off.  Yes I used to bring the co detector but then again, if I'm by myself...when it's too late, it's too late...

As by experience where I have fished all night...stayed awake and never had issues, but it only takes one time to be too late...
For more information read my MN nice journal

Offline Crappielover89

• Team IceShanty Addict
« Reply #2 on: Oct 16, 2019, 01:14 AM »
I spend the night quite often and use my heater. Most times es I don't use it while I sleep but times I have I open vents and crak the door open and I'm still here.........

Offline BeenPerchin315

• Team IceShanty Maniac
  • Yes. There will be ice and I will fish it.
« Reply #3 on: Oct 16, 2019, 04:18 AM »