Author Topic: Opinion on new hub shanty for family  (Read 4252 times)

Offline TheLionsFan

• Team IceShanty Regular
Opinion on new hub shanty for family
« on: Jan 07, 2021, 09:53 PM »
Hey guys,

I've always loved using a flip over shanty and currently am REALLY liking my Jason Mitchell Thermal-X.  However, I have 2 young boys that are probably going to start to fish very soon.  My oldest probably this year.  I am starting to look into the hub style shanties as I am going to need the room.  Right now, I am considering the Clam X-400 or X-600.  From what I can see, they're the same shanty except the 600 is obviously bigger.  What I dont want is getting the 400 and finding out its too small, and also dont want to get the 600 and find out its overkill and the 400 would have worked just fine.  I figure 4 holes + 1 for the flasher (5 total holes), a heater, and gear. 

I have never used a hub style shanty a day in my life so I have no experience with them.  From what I can see, they appear to set up and take down very easily.  The only reason I am considering maybe going for the 600 is even if it is bigger than I need, it may be worth it for extra holes or even taking an extra person, or if me and my buddies go and now all the people are adults instead of half adults/half kids.

Anyway, does anyone have any advice as far as what direction I should go?

Thanks!

Offline davearnold5511

• IceShanty Rookie
Re: Opinion on new hub shanty for family
« Reply #1 on: Jan 07, 2021, 10:27 PM »
I personally recommend Otter brand. I just bought the Otter Resort 6 sided hub. Heavier poles, 100+ ft sq fishable area, thermal quilt, only 53 lbs. Every shortcoming of previous hubs are fixed in this model. Outer skirt anchor points, downforce straps, 2 zipper doors so there is no stress on seams, pass through flap for propane hose, and I could go on. Bought mine for $500 and its well worth it. Never worry about going too big, with gear and going in and out, you will appreciate the room.