Author Topic: Locating Perch?  (Read 2322 times)

walleye_master90

Locating Perch?
« on: Mar 15, 2005, 06:21 PM »
This is my first year ice fishing and i was wondering how you locate perch? What kind of lures should you start with?

Offline WARRIOR_ON_ICE

• Team IceShanty Maniac
  • Long Live the WARRIOR
Re: Locating Perch?
« Reply #1 on: Mar 16, 2005, 06:53 AM »
Walleye master 90, I am no expert on perch or any other fish the way others on this site either are for real or pretend to be. That said, I have had success locating and catching perch in lakes that are not familiar to me. I don't use any electronics or cameras, so I am always flying blind. Knowing the depth of the lake is good info. to have. If the water gets this deep, try 20 - 25 FOW on a flat bottom, preferably with muddy or weedy floor. On most days, the larger perch will hit a 2-3 inch minnow placed 1 foot from the bottom on a tip-up. Your tip-up should have a 6 foot leader of approx. 6 # test mono off the braided line, and with a # 10 treble hook tied on, with a split shot a foot above the hook just big enough to keep the minnow down.

Once you start catching fish on the tip-ups, you can try jigging them with a wide selection of lures baited with various natural baits. Keep the lures small and use a perch eye, spike, mealworm or other baits. Rod should be very sensitive to detect light biting fish. I'm sure others will contribute a wealth of info. that I have not covered and good luck. Once you get your perch, make skinless, boneless fillets and pan fry them to do them justice.
The Ultimate Warrior is possessed with great power from the heavens above ! Against the mighty lake trout and pike and schools of crappie, the power of the WARRIOR will always ......... PREVAIL !!!

Offline Van_Cleaver

• Team IceShanty Maniac
« Reply #2 on: Mar 16, 2005, 07:23 AM »