Author Topic: Don't spud me in.  (Read 3416 times)

Offline reelbigfish

• Team IceShanty Regular
  • Just one more and we'll all go home. SE Mi.
Don't spud me in.
« on: Dec 07, 2005, 06:04 AM »
  I thought it might be a good idea to mention "ice edicate" to some of the new
ice guys out there.  I am a seasoned veteran and most of the time catch a
nice mess of quality fish.  When other anglers see me outfishing them they think
that I've got a "magic hole" and start drilling closer and closer trying to get in on
the action.  This usually spooks the fish and nobody catches any.  I'm just saying
give me some space.  How close is too close?  I've even sold a hole to some young
bucks before who were convinced that all of the fish in the lake were under that
one hot hole. LOL  Any stories about getting "spudded in"  ?

Ted
Many men go fishing their entire lives without knowing it's not fish they are after.
Thoreau

Offline slabcrab

• Team IceShanty Regular
  • Ice Fishing Rulez!
Re: Don't spud me in.
« Reply #1 on: Dec 07, 2005, 06:39 AM »
Excellent thread; It drives me absolutely CRAZY when guys pretty much set their gear in between mine or right next to my traps; like 15 feet away because they see me getting flags.  If they;re good dudes I will say to them "hey why dont you set up over here with me?" Thats no problem; or if I strike up a conversation with a fisherman who is all set up in the area I had intended to set up in; I will politely ask him "do you mind if I set up in this area?""   If he says yes, I will but definately keep my distance.  But when I'm sitting out there and guys start drilling holes 20 feet from my stuff, I think its rude and uncalled for.  So, what I'm getting at is give icefisherman some distance if you want to fish the same area like a 100 feet or so.   Then again, when I see someone set up in the area I intended to, I will say to myself, oh well, and set up in some other area, and ya know what, I usually discover a new honey hole that way.