New York Ice Fishing sponsored by

Author Topic: What am I doing wrong?  (Read 1499 times)

Offline Stelladog

• IceShanty Rookie
What am I doing wrong?
« on: Dec 26, 2013, 03:06 PM »
First I am new to ice fishing and trying to learn as much as possible.  I was on Big Bay Oneida today and guys were pulling pan fish out left and right.  I was switching jigs and did not seem to have much luck - 2 fish.  With a jig on,  my line was not very taunt and I had a hard time feeling bite.  I tried a split shot about a foot up which tighten line up but no better results.  I had wax worm on.  I guess any suggestions from the veterans would be appreciated.  I also would like to know how to set up my line for a tip up to hook a minnow.  Thanks

Offline KeukaZ71

• Team IceShanty Addict
Re: What am I doing wrong?
« Reply #1 on: Dec 26, 2013, 03:17 PM »
Did they have electronics? What pound test are you using? Did you move at all? Sometimes moving, even just a few yards, can sometimes make a difference.

Small jig and light line with a spike or two works most of the time. I use 2 lb test

Offline KeukaZ71

• Team IceShanty Addict
« Reply #2 on: Dec 26, 2013, 03:21 PM »
For tip up, use braided line made for tipups. Swivel, then 18 in leader roughly. U can use flouro, but even 10 lb mono works too. I use #8 treble, split shot or two, shiner rigged thru dorsal. Keep bait 12-18 in off bottom

Offline himhofh

• Team IceShanty Regular
  • dedication gotta love it!
« Reply #3 on: Dec 26, 2013, 03:22 PM »
I use 1/32 jigs round head no body in pink or charteuese. try using spikes when waxies aren't working. you need to be as close to the bottom as possible.

Offline himhofh

• Team IceShanty Regular
« Reply #4 on: Dec 26, 2013, 03:23 PM »
tip up rigs vary from species of fish you are after

Offline OneBucketMike

• Team IceShanty Maniac
« Reply #5 on: Dec 26, 2013, 03:26 PM »