Author Topic: Marcum LX6 vs Lowrance Elite 5?  (Read 1277 times)

Offline markinohio

• Team IceShanty Regular
Marcum LX6 vs Lowrance Elite 5?
« on: Sep 22, 2017, 08:45 AM »
I’ve been eyeing the Marcum LX6 for a couple of years now, but I still have not been able to pull the trigger. On the Elite 5, I use the graph only, and concentrate on the amplitude meter. So, on the LX6 I would be interested in the vertical display and the graph. My question is how much of an improvement would the LX6 be over the Elite 5? I’m pretty sure that the Marcum has a superior ice transducer, and the ability to change the cone angle is a big plus. However, I’m typically fishing in water only 5-15 feet deep with a ton of weeds.

Would love to hear the observations of someone that has used both units.

Thanks!
Mark

Offline 3300

• Team IceShantyholic
  • Michigan Moderator.Not affiliated with MarCum Tech
Re: Marcum LX6 vs Lowrance Elite 5?
« Reply #1 on: Sep 22, 2017, 10:06 AM »
hey mark,

i have not used both, but have used a few others. the thing about your water your fishing is more important. fishing weeds with a wide angle transducer means more clutter or too much information from the weeds that is represented in a tiny space. so the idea would be to use the narrow beam so it shows less weeds in that same space. when your looking for those pockets that allow you to see deeper in the weeds, this is even more important.

i use the marcum lx9 and fish mainly 4 to 12 feet of water to bottom on one lake and has a max depth of 45 feet.  and 15 to 27 feet on another. 27 feet is the deepest the later lake goes. i notice as it turns dark the fish move slowly back out to slightly deeper water. they are suspended fish some days and then they are foraging fish other days. i'd rather fish the edge of weed beds than trying to look thru them tho.