Author Topic: Frozen Guides  (Read 2715 times)

Offline Boatless in BTV

• IceShanty Rookie
Frozen Guides
« on: Feb 01, 2021, 06:16 PM »
I'm relatively new to the game and was wondering if anyone has any good suggestions for keeping the guides on jigging rods from freezing up. I was fishing in about 15 degree F weather today, and after the fish started biting, I found myself having to chip ice out of the guides every few minutes.

Thanks for any advice!

Offline meandcuznalfy

• Team IceShanty Maniac
Re: Frozen Guides
« Reply #1 on: Feb 01, 2021, 07:02 PM »
Have never tried it, but chapstick is supposed to help that.

Offline claymore6

• Team IceShanty Regular
« Reply #2 on: Feb 01, 2021, 07:05 PM »
 I often use 2 lb test line. The only way I have found to remove the ice in the guides without damaging the line is to put the guide in my mouth and melt the ice. Takes a second or two. No fuss. No problems even in below zero as the guides are pretty small and I get rid of the ice before it become a problem.

Offline rdhammah

• Team IceShanty Maniac
« Reply #3 on: Feb 01, 2021, 08:30 PM »
I often use 2 lb test line. The only way I have found to remove the ice in the guides without damaging the line is to put the guide in my mouth and melt the ice. Takes a second or two. No fuss. No problems even in below zero as the guides are pretty small and I get rid of the ice before it become a problem.
x2 the method. I use 4# test

Offline meandcuznalfy

• Team IceShanty Maniac
« Reply #4 on: Feb 01, 2021, 11:17 PM »
X3, I use 10# test, but break ice out of guides as I see it forming

Offline slipperybob

• Team IceShantyholic
  • LX5 or die...maybe extra battery.
« Reply #5 on: Feb 02, 2021, 01:51 AM »
I finger flick my rod tip every now and then.  Do it when it's wet so that ice don't form on it.

And this also comes back to line guide material.  Metals will freeze up with ice faster than say ceramic.  Bigger line guides are less prone to get ice choked.