The ice fishing ME board is sponsored by:
Visit Dags visit derby website

Author Topic: Line for tipups?  (Read 1541 times)

Offline FlagChaser

• Team IceShanty Regular
Line for tipups?
« on: Oct 24, 2007, 04:13 PM »
Anyone try the vinyl coated braided line for ice traps? What are you all using for line and leader?
http://

Offline Mainehazmt

• Iceshanty Militia
  • Team IceShantyholic
Re: Line for tipups?
« Reply #1 on: Oct 24, 2007, 04:21 PM »
this year I'm trying florescent orange flyline backing 20lb strength
I am a Veteran Not a Terrorist!

Offline dadstacklebox

• Team IceShanty Maniac
  • ice it!
« Reply #2 on: Oct 24, 2007, 06:13 PM »
 Dacron line will last for years. Tie a small swivel on then tie your leader on. I use 12' of leader because i like to know the 12' mark.   ;)
fire and ice go together like hate and love!
        Extreme Outdoors

Offline GAMBELL

• Team IceShanty Maniac
  • 41" PIKE 2005!
« Reply #3 on: Oct 24, 2007, 06:32 PM »
Mason 30 lb. braided tipup line is what is on all of my tip ups.  The vinyl coated stuff has too much memeory.  It is all coily when it is in the water.

Offline ICEMAINEiac

• Iceshanty Sponsor
  • Team IceShanty Maniac
« Reply #4 on: Oct 25, 2007, 05:59 AM »
Mason 30 lb. braided tipup line is what is on all of my tip ups.  The vinyl coated stuff has too much memeory.  It is all coily when it is in the water.
I 2nd that

Offline jacksmelt71

• Team IceShanty Maniac
« Reply #5 on: Oct 25, 2007, 07:53 AM »
ive used 40lb. heat treated dacron for 20yrs. now. great stuff and the heat treatment keeps the fibers together and doesnt allow water to be absorbed. ive used it for small brookies to muskie and it lasts forever! just switch the leader size as needed for different size fish.

Offline pegasus

• Team IceShanty Maniac
  • THINK ICE
« Reply #6 on: Oct 25, 2007, 05:12 PM »
Where do you buy it Jacksmelt71?
Steve

Offline jacksmelt71

• Team IceShanty Maniac
« Reply #7 on: Oct 25, 2007, 06:55 PM »