Author Topic: Best ice flasher for the money  (Read 6675 times)

Offline ahunterboy

• IceShanty Rookie
Best ice flasher for the money
« on: Feb 05, 2015, 11:46 AM »
i have been ice fishing for over 20 years but I am new to the electronics involved. I am looking for advise on ice flashers, I have looked at marcum, humminbird, and vexlar but I'm not sure what would be the best for the money. Any help would be appreciated
ahunterboy--- keep yer stick on the ice

Offline 97sx

• Team IceShanty Regular
Re: Best ice flasher for the money
« Reply #1 on: Feb 05, 2015, 11:52 AM »
What's your budget?  Biggest difference between most of the lower end units and higher end is the power of the unit.  Also you are right on the verge of seeing some nice ice fishing end of season sales coming up, which would be a good time to buy.

You could potentially get a Ford/Chevy type of debate here as well.

Offline IM-POUNDING- R -U

• Team IceShanty Maniac
« Reply #2 on: Feb 05, 2015, 12:00 PM »
Resale        Vexilar
Reliable        Vexilar
Fish all Weekend on one Charge
10% of the fisherman catch 90% of the fish .....im a 10% are you?

Offline PSC13

• Team IceShanty Regular
« Reply #3 on: Feb 05, 2015, 12:02 PM »
Get at the least a Vexilar FL18 and you will be happy. Vexilar makes a quality flasher and i say go with at least the FL18 because it goes to 200 feet where i think the FL 12 goes to 120ft or somthing like that.

Offline ahunterboy

• IceShanty Rookie
« Reply #4 on: Feb 05, 2015, 12:25 PM »
I have been looking at a marcum showdown 5.6, I would like to stay under $400 if possible
ahunterboy--- keep yer stick on the ice

Offline 97sx

• Team IceShanty Regular
« Reply #5 on: Feb 05, 2015, 12:56 PM »
I am not as familiar with the showdown series but have an LX5 that I have been very happy with.  Looks like they can be had from Reeds Sporting Goods for about $100 off and you get free shipping and no sales tax.