Author Topic: Fancy custom rods  (Read 4452 times)

Offline Mainehazmt

• Iceshanty Militia
  • Team IceShantyholic
Fancy custom rods
« on: Dec 04, 2008, 11:16 AM »
Why?

I have a hard time believing a rod makes any difference  Ive had all types  currently I run 8 lb test on all my poles except a heavy duty pole I have  and that has 17 or more test  and 30 lb on mytipups  Ive actually caught more fish on an ol zebco than on anything else    a pole is just a stick with line attached to it  yea I have had the el cheapo plastic reels   dont last  some not even worth it  but a 50 buck rod for ice fishing   cant see it   I have a 150 buck fly rod  and then add the reel   I dont see it making me a better fisherman  Ive been known to bait that fly rod with a worm or minnow    so back to the question   why a custom rod?
I am a Veteran Not a Terrorist!

Offline Tomhusker

• Team IceShanty Maniac
  • We're making ICE boys!!
Re: Fancy custom rods
« Reply #1 on: Dec 04, 2008, 11:21 AM »
I agree, sometimes I think we get caught up in the ol' keepin' up with the Jone's. BUT... Guilty as charged on most things. I have a $250.00 custom made catfishing rod that I haven't used yet because I haven't found the right place to use it. I've had it for two years. 

Offline flyman1002

• Team IceShanty Regular
« Reply #2 on: Dec 04, 2008, 11:26 AM »
I am a hardcore flyfisherman and can justify spending the money for a good rod.  But for ice fishing when you are dropping a jig down a hole....really???  If I spend 30.00 for a rod that is alot.   

Offline Tomhusker

• Team IceShanty Maniac
  • We're making ICE boys!!
« Reply #3 on: Dec 04, 2008, 11:35 AM »
I use 4 rods I got from Jammin' Jigs 4 years ago on clearance for 5 bucks apiece. I think they are made by Bad Dog. I love them, and for $20.00 for the four of them, I have already gotten my moneys worth. I'd buy them again if they ever began selling rods again.

Offline something smells fishy

• IceShanty Rookie