Author Topic: Balancing Rod, Reel, Line and Lure  (Read 793 times)

Offline ehavs

• IceShanty Rookie
Balancing Rod, Reel, Line and Lure
« on: Oct 15, 2015, 08:23 AM »
hey guys newbie here withe a newbie question.  I am reading a lot about making sure your whole rod, reel, and line combo along with the lure is well balanced.  Question is I am having a hard time finding posts or articles online that may help explain HOW to do this. 

Was curious if there is one tried and true method to do this and if there are many ways to do this what are yours?

Thanks

Offline hardwater diehard

• Iceshanty Militia
  • Team IceshantyInsanity
Re: Balancing Rod, Reel, Line and Lure
« Reply #1 on: Oct 15, 2015, 08:53 AM »
Should add your location profile.

its mostly species related ...smaller the target the thinner the line per se 
Panfish 1-4 pound test....I like 3 pound ...I go two but hard to find locally

Usually have a higher pound test main line with a smaller pound test (fluorocarbon) leader connected via a BB swivel

what fish are you  targeting ?
Give a man a fish he eats for a day .Teach a man to ice fish he has an obsession for a lifetime

Offline 800stealth

• Team IceShanty Maniac
« Reply #2 on: Oct 15, 2015, 09:08 AM »
Start with your rod... it should say on the blank what size line it is intended to be used with as well as the weight of the lures, once you know what size line you will be using you can select the proper sized reel to round out your combo.
"May your lines be tight and never be tangled" (old Frankish Proverb)  Guinea 2021

Offline RapShack

• Team IceShanty Maniac
« Reply #3 on: Oct 15, 2015, 02:03 PM »