The ice fishing Michigan board sponsored by:

Sponsor this board

Author Topic: good ice fishing lakes near marquette?  (Read 2995 times)

Offline northern45

• IceShanty Rookie
  • me at brainerd jaycess tournament
good ice fishing lakes near marquette?
« on: Oct 11, 2005, 07:22 AM »
hey just moved up to marquette from down state lansing area. looking for any tips on some good hard water to try out up here. anything will help im from down state so everything is new up here.

Offline killitandgrillit

• Team IceShanty Addict
  • Drilling and Grilling!
Re: good ice fishing lakes near marquette?
« Reply #1 on: Oct 12, 2005, 07:49 AM »
Your in luck man! I've been fishing the UP for several years now, and I know some really decent spots...eyes, perch, pike, bluegills...there is alot of fishing to be done around here, lots of lakes, but one thing you'll notice (I know I did when I moved here from Wisconsin) is that the lakes are not as abundant with fish. You really do have to work to get your catch.

You should check out my website (upwoodsnwater.com). It's the slow season, when everyone is hunting- but in winter, it gets pretty darn busy. Alot of the guys are really helpful and will provide exact baits, times, locations, etc. I also do a number of trips each year, and we organize people from the site to meet up and fish. A few of the guys with information worth listenting to- CP, Kodiak, Genopg, and of course, me (yeti).

We'd be more than happy to hook you up into our group- we usually fish together at least once or twice a month. Oh ya, and welcome to da UP!

"I fish because I love to; because I love the environs where trout are found,because I suspect that men are going along this way for the last time, and I  don't want to waste the trip; maybe one day I will catch a mermaid; and finally, not because I regard fishing as being so terribly important, but because I suspect that so m

Offline SleePac

• Team IceShanty Regular
  • I'd Rather Be Ice Fishing!