Author Topic: Winni Derby Mishaps  (Read 2711 times)

Offline cusker

• IceShanty Rookie
Winni Derby Mishaps
« on: Feb 14, 2007, 09:42 PM »
       Well, another Winni derby is in the past.  Once again, it was a cluster of unfortunate mishaps.  I truly believe it just wouldn't be the same if all went well,,,just once.  I've been attending the infamous derby for about 20 years now, and have had more than my share of bad luck.  I'll share a story with you.  Please feel free to write about your own derby woes.  It would be nice to know I'm not the only one. 

Last year 2006 had to be the worst.  Friday a windstorm came in that topped anything I've ever seen.  Kind of comical at first.  I was fishing out of Leavitt Park watching all sorts of items blow away from people.  Than it started getting worse.  My tip ups wouldn't stay in the holes.  A bobhouse nearby caught on fire and burned to death, my jet sled flipped over WITH my gear (auger etc.) inside and blew to kingdom come (never did get it).  I saw a guy drive after a bobhouse that was blowing off to OZ and when he passed it, he let it slam into his vehicle.  It stopped and out of the bobhouse walked his son.  Unbelievable!
Bobhouses started flipping over like dominoes.  Our bobhouse stood firm like a rock, and began to sink like one.  We cut the anchor lines and while trying to pull it (POLARIS 6 WHEELER) to thicker ice, got blown backwards to thinner ice!  Drilled a couple holes, anchored it, and left it for dead.  By the grace of God it got bitter cold overnight and we were able to retrieve it the next day.  Saturday was typical for me, NO TROUT.  Sunday I tucked my tail between my legs and went to Salmon Meadow in Moultonboro to catch yellow perch (small ones), LAME.