The Iceshanty Ice Auger Board is sponsored by
Nils Master Authorized Sharpening Service

Author Topic: Icegator....  (Read 4175 times)

Offline sidt87

• IceShanty Rookie
Icegator....
« on: Dec 30, 2016, 12:53 AM »
Second year (2016) of my 42v Annihilator and my battery takes a crap. Open the battery case and this is what I found, a battery that says 20v 4400mAh **censored**? Is this right? I'm no battery expert but shouldn't it say 42v or at least have two 20v batteries taped together ?(which it doesn't appear so).

Anyone know where I can get a replacement battery since the company went out of business? Thanks.

Offline KingfisherMM

• IceShanty Rookie
Re: Icegator....
« Reply #1 on: Dec 30, 2016, 01:21 AM »
Hi sidt87,
You may have 2) 20 "ish" volt batteries wired in series internally. (Lithium ion batteries are approximately 3.7 volts per cell.)
Are they cylindrical cells or do the look like pouch cells? if you could post a picture or two I may be able to help.
Also have you taken a voltage test to determine the open circuit voltage of the battery? Are you sure the charger is working?
Unless something drastic happened to a cell(s), that battery pack should be able to cycle thousands of times and there is no way you used it that many times in 2 ice fishing seasons (full charge to full discharge and back to full charge is a cycle)
Anyway with more info I'll try to help.
Mark

Offline sidt87

• IceShanty Rookie
« Reply #2 on: Dec 30, 2016, 08:06 AM »
It appears to be one solid shrink wrapped pack. I've tested the charger on my older 24v li-ion Icegator and it charges and the motor also works when I tested with the older battery. Oh you may ask why I'm not using the 24v, well it's because the trigger and wiring is all screwed up and gotta fix that too..

[/URL]

Offline 3300

• Team IceShantyholic
  • Michigan Moderator.Not affiliated with MarCum Tech
« Reply #3 on: Dec 30, 2016, 08:14 PM »
the picture doesn't lie.
maybe that's why they are gone!