The Iceshanty Ice Auger Board is sponsored by
Nils Master Authorized Sharpening Service

Author Topic: Black Friday Drills?  (Read 3037 times)

Offline St. Lawrence River Guy

• Team IceShanty Regular
Black Friday Drills?
« on: Nov 20, 2018, 07:24 PM »
I've been using an 8" strikemaster lazer hand auger for 5 years with good success but I'm due for an upgraded drill for some upcoming projects soooo -

1) It seems like it's been about a year since the great drill debate was had on ice shanty.  Is the Milwaukee Fuel (1200 in lb torque) still considered the top option?  There seem to be some people in favor of the Ridgid brand as well.

2) If I downsize my hand auger to a 7" can I get a slightly less expensive drill?

If you can point me to current discussions on the topic I'd appreciate it (though it appears that most discussions are dealing with last year's models).

Go below 0F on Wed/Thur so there might be some late November fishing in our future!

Offline Seamonkey84

• Team IceShanty Maniac
Re: Black Friday Drills?
« Reply #1 on: Nov 20, 2018, 07:59 PM »
I have a 7” lazer and a 725in/lb drill from three years ago, runs like a champ. The Milwaukee leads with battery performance, the m18 red lithium batteries currently go up to 12ah and is almost impervious to the cold. Rigid has grabbed the attention currently with their new drill which has 1300in/lb and has special offers going. I’d stick with your 8” auger and get one of the “older” drills with minimum 725in/lb (I’d recommend going at least 800in/lb) as long as it’s brushless and has at least 4ah batteries.

Offline 3300

• Team IceShantyholic
  • Michigan Moderator.Not affiliated with MarCum Tech
« Reply #2 on: Nov 20, 2018, 09:15 PM »

Offline St. Lawrence River Guy

• Team IceShanty Regular
« Reply #3 on: Nov 20, 2018, 09:25 PM »
Thanks for the tips!  That's exactly what I was looking for - it's so hard to try to compare 50 different drills online when things like torque are hidden in the specs.

Offline kayl