Author Topic: Lighting for Night Fishing Eyes  (Read 2367 times)

Offline ajahrendt07

• IceShanty Rookie
Lighting for Night Fishing Eyes
« on: Jan 14, 2014, 12:52 AM »
Hello everyone,

Haven't received a real straight forward or consistent answer and dont know if i will but i will give it a shot on here....When moving shallow (6-10ft) towards sunset and fishing when dark, do you have lights in the shack on? Do lights on in the shack affect walleye coming in in shallow water? I use lights when fishing at night in deep water but have always been skeptical about doing so in shallow water. Any and all input is appreciated...Thanks!

Offline egbertdd

• IceShanty Rookie
Re: Lighting for Night Fishing Eyes
« Reply #1 on: Jan 14, 2014, 03:07 AM »
I have limited experience but I have always used a head lamp only to charge jigs/land fish....  Definitely feel a light is a deterrent in skinny water/ not natural/ out of their natural norm.  My buddies who have far more experience never use lights either.  when using tip ups or jigging and alwya sin 10 ft or less after dark.

Keep em wet

Offline Capt J

• Team IceShanty Maniac
« Reply #2 on: Jan 14, 2014, 10:45 AM »
Hey aj

I use lights in shallow water.  Over the years I've played around with different lighting scenarios.  Red, white, dimmed, dark... so on.

I've managed some really big fish in 5 fow or less with lights blazing and the heater hissing to beat the band.  I'm by no means an expert but now I run lights all the time.

Not sure why but I do hold my glow flasher against me when its dark so I dont flash down the hole.  I've noticed the ice transmits that light out.  I really have no clue as to if thats a bad thing but it is in my mind.

Offline Walleye_Slayer

• IceShanty Rookie
« Reply #3 on: Jan 14, 2014, 06:25 PM »