Author Topic: Flourocarbon, Mono or Wire Leaders?  (Read 23294 times)

Offline St. Lawrence River Guy

• Team IceShanty Regular
Flourocarbon, Mono or Wire Leaders?
« on: Jan 21, 2018, 07:22 PM »
I've been running 30lb mono leaders for a few years and my results have really improved since switching from traditional wire leaders.  However, today I had two fish break off those leaders (they might have been damaged last weekend but I didn't see any noticeable issues when baiting my hooks).

So, in very clear water (today I was sight fishing perch in 20 ft+ of water) what's your leader of choice.

Type, weight, brand?

Thanks.

Offline mvanhank222

• Team IceShanty Regular
Re: Flourocarbon, Mono or Wire Leaders?
« Reply #1 on: Jan 21, 2018, 07:35 PM »
Seagar blue label leader 20 lb for pike 8 lb for walleye 2 or 4 lb for panfish

Offline northernnyice

• Team IceShanty Maniac
« Reply #2 on: Jan 22, 2018, 07:28 AM »
Seaguar 60lb fluoro leader material. This is important... fluorocarbon line and fluorocarbon leader material are not the same. The actual leader material is much more resistant to abrassive tension. And ive been bit off on 60.

Offline St. Lawrence River Guy

• Team IceShanty Regular
« Reply #3 on: Jan 22, 2018, 06:45 PM »
I've heard good things about seaguar.  Always balked at the price but by the time you buy tip ups, bait, shanties, heaters, etc, etc, etc, losing big fish b/c I didn't spend $20 on leaders seems silly.

Just placed an order for some 60lb leaders.

Thx.

Offline Evil Tom

• Team IceShanty Addict
  • Jesus walked on water...once I do it every year
« Reply #4 on: Jan 23, 2018, 09:37 AM »
Why not braided line?.

Offline frigidaire

• Team IceShanty Regular
« Reply #5 on: Jan 23, 2018, 10:30 AM »