Author Topic: Use Lowrance Elite 7 or buy a new flasher?  (Read 14934 times)

Offline seedman76

• IceShanty Rookie
Use Lowrance Elite 7 or buy a new flasher?
« on: Dec 02, 2013, 10:27 PM »
I'm an ice fishing novice and need to purchase my first flasher for ice fishing.  This past summer I bought a new Lowrance Elite 7 Combo HDI for summer fishing in my boat.  This is a sonar/GPS combo.  It does have a flasher mode where you can turn the display into a digital flasher.  I talked to Lowrance Customer Service and can purchase an ice ducer plus a plug in adapter I would need for approx. $100 plus the cost of a battery.  My question is would I be best off to go this route or buy a dedicated flasher like a Marcum or Vexilar???  One advantage I see to the Elite 7 is the GPS and mapping capability but I'm also not sure how this unit would perform in the winter vs. buying a dedicated flasher more designed for ice fishing.  Thanks in advance for any advice you can provide.

Offline Fishrmn

• Team IceShanty Addict
  • Prayin' for sub-zero temps.
Re: Use Lowrance Elite 7 or buy a new flasher?
« Reply #1 on: Dec 02, 2013, 10:40 PM »
Don't buy a flasher, and DON'T turn on the 'flasher' display on your Elite 7.  People have been misinformed about real time and flashers for years.  Marcum has finally entered the 21st century.  That puts them about 13 years behind Lowrance. 
Fishrmn

"I tolerate with the utmost latitude the right of others to differ from me in opinion." Thomas Jefferson

Offline Purple Floyd

• Team IceShanty Regular
  • We're just two lost souls swimming in a fish bowl.
« Reply #2 on: Dec 02, 2013, 11:21 PM »
Get the ducer. Not sure if that fits in the ice pack but if it does then get that too. Just got out the other night with the new elite 5 ice machine and it is great.

Offline chumster

• Team IceShanty Addict
« Reply #3 on: Dec 03, 2013, 08:27 AM »