New York Ice Fishing sponsored by

Author Topic: Electric auger?  (Read 3391 times)

Offline drillinnjiggin

• IceShanty Rookie
  • Forced to work Born to Fish!
Electric auger?
« on: Jan 17, 2011, 09:01 PM »
Greetings from a total newbie,
Second season first on IceShanty. Was thinking about an electric auger. Usually only do between 5-15 holes. A lot closer to 5 before the elbow gives out....anyway what you guys think about the electrics Jiffy or Strikemaster? Thanks!

Offline big jim callahan

• Team IceShanty Regular
  • Beer making the world a better place
Re: Electric auger?
« Reply #1 on: Jan 17, 2011, 09:54 PM »
I got a 18 volt L Ion this year 7" auger 1 charge 6"-8" of ice 21 holes before I lost the charge poped in a fresh bat and kept on goind not to sure how its going to do with 12" off ice  :tipup:

Offline pshootr

• Team IceShanty Regular
« Reply #2 on: Jan 17, 2011, 11:13 PM »
LAZER ELECTRA IS THE CATS A$$!!GOT ONE IN 6 INCH!!!PURRRRRFECT!!!! @) :) ;)
GOD BLESS AMERICA.LETS GO FISHIN!!!!

Offline otiscolake

• Team IceShanty Regular
« Reply #3 on: Jan 18, 2011, 07:12 AM »
i have the strike master 8" and like it. its good for over 30 holes. only thing is it is a little heavy.

Offline perchslayer716

• Team IceShanty Regular
« Reply #4 on: Jan 18, 2011, 05:24 PM »
the jiffy ones are really nice

Offline drillinnjiggin

• IceShanty Rookie
« Reply #5 on: Jan 18, 2011, 07:05 PM »
THANKS GUYS!

Offline ICE DOG 69

• Team IceShanty Addict
« Reply #6 on: Jan 18, 2011, 07:07 PM »
I have a ICE GATOR.  It rocks!!!  I can drill anywhere from 40 to 70 holes with 5 inches of ice and a 6 inch hole.

Offline Hardwaternubie53

• Team IceShanty Maniac
« Reply #7 on: Jan 19, 2011, 08:56 AM »
Strikemaster 8" electric. Love it! I don't drill a lot, usually. Maybe 50 to 60 in a three day weekend out. If the battery kicks, I have a back up. It also comes with an auxiliary cable to power it off of any 12 volt source (ATV, sled, even my vex powers the auger!).