Author Topic: How/Why does Active Fishing work?  (Read 1637 times)

Offline wlai

• IceShanty Rookie
How/Why does Active Fishing work?
« on: Jan 21, 2018, 03:24 PM »
I am a newbie at ice fishing and recently learned the Active Fishing method.  I was wondering why/how it works and have some questions, assumptions, conclusions:

-  Assuming the fish you are targeting are on the move, don't you have as much chance sitting and waiting for them to come around than you moving to try to find them right underneath you?  Seems kinda analogous to trying to be rescued if you are lost in the woods: You can keep moving hoping to run into a search party, or you can stay put and hope they come to you.
-  If the fish aren't moving, of course, you have no choice but to hunt them down
-  So if it is dependent on the fish's activity level, what do we know about the reasons fish cruise or hold at a location?  Species, structure, time of day, weather, etc. right?  Can someone help me understand how Perch behaves, generally?
-  It seems to me that Ice Fishing naturally allows one to move around and cover ground, particularly compared to shorebound anglers. You can cover the whole lake with the only effort being hole drilling, there's no need for a boat, etc.

Anyway I'm rambling, just having a bit of a thought exercise and hope that the experts can chime in and add to my understanding.

Thanks,

Will

Offline RyanW

• Team IceShanty Maniac
Re: How/Why does Active Fishing work?
« Reply #1 on: Jan 21, 2018, 07:30 PM »