Author Topic: headwear  (Read 16842 times)

newyicefish

headwear
« on: Aug 15, 2003, 03:17 PM »
im new to ice fishing and to cold weather, what do i want to wear to keep mine noggin warm while ice fishing

thnks

Offline HIMO

• IceShanty Mod Team
  • Team IceShanty Maniac
  • GOATBOYS WISCONSIN CHAPTER 1st Wisconsin goat!!
Re:headwear
« Reply #1 on: Aug 15, 2003, 03:50 PM »
a stocking hat should do it.
It's not how deep you fish, but how you wiggle your worm !!!

Offline HIMO

• IceShanty Mod Team
  • Team IceShanty Maniac
« Reply #2 on: Aug 15, 2003, 03:52 PM »
you can also try a coat with a hood to go along with that hat.

Offline HIMO

• IceShanty Mod Team
  • Team IceShanty Maniac
« Reply #3 on: Aug 15, 2003, 03:55 PM »
read all the tips on cold weather wear in the forums. you should get quite a few ideas from there.

Offline cold_feet

• IceShanty Mod Team
  • Team IceShanty Maniac
  • Ice is Cool!!
« Reply #4 on: Aug 15, 2003, 07:04 PM »
Something that Ive used for years are Helmet liners for hard hats the newer versions have long neck warmers and are flease lined They last for years and in sub zero weather can be down right hot. Some building supply outlets have them and they aren't expensive But you wont win any beauty contest wearing them. And I'm so d@mned ugly I don't really care I'm out their to catch fish not kiss them. ;D ;D ;D
Cold Feet

Offline richstick

• Team IceShanty Regular
  • I drill holes - lots of holes
« Reply #5 on: Aug 15, 2003, 09:27 PM »
Another good tip is to get something on your neck - a good quality neck "gator" will do a good job keeping you warm.  I'll usually use both a good stocking cap and a gator, or on a nicer day, just a gator and a baseball hat.  

Or, just wear a hooded sweatshirt and flip up the hood - that works too.  Comfort is key!  

Offline BJ

• IceShanty Mod Team
  • Team IceShanty Maniac
  • FLAAAAGGGGG!!!
« Reply #6 on: Aug 15, 2003, 09:52 PM »