Ice Fishing Tips -Check your local regulations! > Darkhouse Spearing

spear handle options

(1/3) > >>

DR.SPECKLER:
ok so I have a nice new amish made spear but I'm a newbie and before i throw that and screw it up on a rock or bend the tines somehow I bought a cheap plasma cut spear head that needs a 1/2 handle welded to it.it was 28 bucks and I know its going to plane in the water but I'm spearing in 8ft or less.can I just get a 1/2 piece of rebar for a handle?not looking to put big money into this practice spear.rebar is available around here  6 bucks for a 20ft section.i haven't really seen any 1/2 smooth bar around over 3 ft long.

reproman:
I'm no expert on welding handles on, but I suppose it would work. I guess I wouldn't be afraid of using your Amish spear. It should be plenty durable. If you go in with the idea you're going to wreck it though, you probably will though ;). Just be careful of your depths if you happen to be over big rocks. If you happen to nick a rock, touch it up with a file. Good luck!

DR.SPECKLER:
I went with steel round stock but its only 48 inches and  with the spear head its 57 inches long.is that to short?i thought about putting a wood end piece on it but don't know how to fasten one on or what to use.probably have to be tapered for it to glide in the water.going to spray it all down with clear coat to some what slow the rust down.i think it will be long enough for a shallow water spear.

chilly-willy: