Author Topic: Bait shops in Conway area?  (Read 866 times)

Offline Rancid_Crabtree

• IceShanty Rookie
Bait shops in Conway area?
« on: Jan 16, 2019, 05:01 AM »
Hello all—

I’m new to fishing through the ice. Wondering if there is a recommended bait shop in the Conway/Ossippi area?

Thank you!

Offline Brownbagger247

• Team IceShanty Regular
Re: Bait shops in Conway area?
« Reply #1 on: Jan 16, 2019, 05:31 AM »
They are listed online as you need a license to deal bait. If you're having trouble finding one it may be the misspelling of Ossipee?
How's the ice they all ask? "I’ll tell you what, you can get a good look at a t-bone by sticking your head up a bull’s butt, but I’d rather take the butcher’s word for it."

Offline Lv2hunt

• Team IceShanty Maniac
  • Don't get your Shanty pantys in a bunch!!
« Reply #2 on: Jan 16, 2019, 06:50 AM »
there is a bait shop on pine river rd in ossippee/ effingham the guys a real nice guy has everything you need there are signs at end of rd on rte 16
Give a man a fish and he will eat for a day teach him how to fish and he will sit there and drink all day!!

Offline Rancid_Crabtree

• IceShanty Rookie
« Reply #3 on: Jan 16, 2019, 07:27 AM »
Thank you!

Offline burgerunh

• Team IceShanty Regular
« Reply #4 on: Jan 16, 2019, 07:39 AM »
I will second Ossipee bait on Pine River Road.  DJ will have everything you need and is a super nice guy!

I also believe that there is a hardware store near silver lake that sells shiners.  Nothing else that I know of North of there towards Conway.

Offline Digs

• Team IceShanty Maniac
« Reply #5 on: Jan 16, 2019, 08:06 AM »
Silver lake home center in Madison has shiners but their hours aren't fisherman friendly
Every fish is a good fish!

Offline swnoel

• Team IceShanty Regular
« Reply #6 on: Jan 16, 2019, 01:48 PM »
there is a bait shop on pine river rd in ossippee/ effingham the guys a real nice guy has everything you need there are signs at end of rd on rte 16

Does he have smelt?