Author Topic: ATV's on ice  (Read 6748 times)

Offline SHaRPS

• Team IceShanty Maniac
  • Honor Respect Loyalty
ATV's on ice
« on: Jan 07, 2019, 08:47 AM »
Good morning,

This will be my first ice season with an ATV and I do plan on using it on the big lake for the derby. I will be on it as well as my old man and we will be towing 2 sled full of "normal" ice fishing equipment. The sleds are a jet sled 1 and a jet sled jr. Auger, jig rods, 2 flashers and a engel cooler with bait will also be ON the atv. pop up, chairs, grill, 2 more bait buckets, tip ups, etc will be on the sleds. I already understand the needs for registration and eye wear when operating the ATV. However, what is your rule of thumb for using a machine on the ice? To me as a novice I would say I would feel safe/comfortable with this set up on 10" plus of black ice though I know some charts show machines "safe" on 6" plus. My thing is, you really cannot drive and spud to check as you go. Any tips, tricks, or advice for a first timer? The plow will be coming off for ice fishing and a set of chains will be added to the rear tires. 

Just add water.

Offline zwiggles

• Team IceShanty Maniac
Re: ATV's on ice
« Reply #1 on: Jan 07, 2019, 08:56 AM »
Nice set up.

If the ice is sketchy and I was using a machine (I’m a complete novice as well). I would walk the ice I was plannng On driving with a spud first to check. That way your only walking once, and you will have confidence with your rig.

Offline Hess

• Team IceShanty Regular
« Reply #2 on: Jan 07, 2019, 08:58 AM »
For my comfort level, I like to have a minimum of 12" of good quality ice (in part to account for the potential variability in ice conditions...) -- a set of V-Bar chains on the rear tires isn't a bad idea either...!

Offline Open-Handed Fish Slap

• Team IceShanty Regular
« Reply #3 on: Jan 07, 2019, 09:41 AM »