New York Ice Fishing sponsored by

Author Topic: long pond  (Read 5066 times)

Offline builder

• Team IceShanty Addict
  • don't get drug in
long pond
« on: Dec 24, 2018, 08:45 AM »
whats best access for here. no ice in pa. spent last week up northern ny. great time but too far for day trips. I'm a disabled veteran and cant muscle my way on tough spots anymore.     the builder

Offline mono_mono

• Team IceShanty Addict
Re: long pond
« Reply #1 on: Dec 24, 2018, 09:33 AM »
Long Pond in Smithville??
Go to Heaven for the climate, to hell for the company!

Offline builder

• Team IceShanty Addict
  • don't get drug in
« Reply #2 on: Dec 24, 2018, 11:50 AM »
Yes the lake close to Whitney Point

Offline mono_mono

• Team IceShanty Addict
« Reply #3 on: Dec 24, 2018, 12:44 PM »
Driving North out of Smithville, go towards Long Pond on RTE 41. You will come to a few state land campsite entrances. Take the second one (Left, directly opposite a lone large oak tree) You can park 5 feet from the edge of the ice. Walk out to previously drilled holes about 75 yards from your vehicle. If you dont get out far enough (75 yards) you will be in weed choked unfishable water. Good luck

Offline builder

• Team IceShanty Addict
  • don't get drug in
« Reply #4 on: Dec 24, 2018, 01:13 PM »
thank you mono. i'll be up on Thursday early for the day. black frabil 2 man with aegis on the front. stop by if youre around. also big al if you should happen to be there i'd like to meet you            the builder

Offline bigal409

• Team IceShanty Maniac
« Reply #5 on: Dec 24, 2018, 01:15 PM »
Or keep driving down the road another 1/4 mile or so and you'll see a parking area where there's a boat launch. Can access the lake at the launch. If your coming in from Whitney Point PM me and I'll give you directions from there.

Offline builder

• Team IceShanty Addict
  • don't get drug in
« Reply #6 on: Dec 24, 2018, 01:20 PM »
ok thanks

Offline Flipforit

• IceShanty Rookie