New York Ice Fishing sponsored by

Author Topic: Help Southern ADKs, new fisherman  (Read 2502 times)

Offline Doppler2

• Team IceShanty Regular
Help Southern ADKs, new fisherman
« on: Dec 19, 2018, 09:20 AM »
I am new to ice fishing, (my second year) and am planning a trip based in a friends place just northeast of Utica. I am gonna be the most experienced out of the three family members going, and I was looking for some sure fire ways to not get totally skunked.

I was thinking lake Piseco/Lake Pleasant. I have heard that Piseco is good for small lake trout, and that's exactly what I'm looking for. I'd prefer to be guaranteed a bunch of small fish than to maybe catch a 30 inch laker.  Any other good lakes? We do not have snowmobiles so we are limited to relatively small lakes with road access.

Any tips on where to go, what to do, how deep to fish, what to use, etc? Thanks :)

Offline pmac3

• Team IceShanty Addict
Re: Help Southern ADKs, new fisherman
« Reply #1 on: Dec 19, 2018, 09:42 AM »
I am new to ice fishing, (my second year) and am planning a trip based in a friends place just northeast of Utica. I am gonna be the most experienced out of the three family members going, and I was looking for some sure fire ways to not get totally skunked.
PM sent

I was thinking lake Piseco/Lake Pleasant. I have heard that Piseco is good for small lake trout, and that's exactly what I'm looking for. I'd prefer to be guaranteed a bunch of small fish than to maybe catch a 30 inch laker.  Any other good lakes? We do not have snowmobiles so we are limited to relatively small lakes with road access.

Any tips on where to go, what to do, how deep to fish, what to use, etc? Thanks :)
Pete

Offline Raquettedacker

• IceShanty Mod Team
  • Team IceshantyInsanity
« Reply #2 on: Dec 19, 2018, 09:49 AM »
Welcome to the site Dopp.
Piseco is a good spot.  Plenty of parking at the 3 campgrounds.
Get some big shiners at hometown bait in marcy..  Good luck..