The ice fishing VT boards are sponsored by:

Author Topic: Best lures for laker?  (Read 5044 times)

Offline David Vadnais

• Team IceShanty Regular
  • My passion?ICE FISHING
Best lures for laker?
« on: Jan 01, 2018, 11:33 PM »
Hi guys,

I would like to know the best lures to catch laker.
Buck tail jig is good?

Thank's
David
David Vadnais

Offline Shawndale1

• IceShanty Rookie
Re: Best lures for laker?
« Reply #1 on: Jan 02, 2018, 06:30 AM »
Everyone has their secret lure and I’m no expert through the ice but I have jigged quite a few up during soft water season using a big soft plastic swimbait. Like the ones the guys use for bass fishing. 3-5” long. Big leadhead.

Offline Hideebeez

• Team IceShanty Regular
« Reply #2 on: Jan 02, 2018, 07:06 AM »
White tubes' willams spoons. Or airplane jigs. Even a jighead with a perch fillet skin on works great too

Offline Icemanvt

• Team IceShanty Regular
« Reply #3 on: Jan 02, 2018, 08:15 AM »
White bucktails, sweedish pimples tipped with cut bait!
FLAG!!

Offline thefishingweatherman

• Team IceShanty Addict
« Reply #4 on: Jan 02, 2018, 08:18 AM »
White Storm brand swim shads work real well on Champ. They look like alewives, so the fish there are real keyed in on them it seems. On other lakes, I have had more success with berkly powerbait ripple shad plastics, with a 3/8 oz weighted hook. The perch and smelt patterns specifically. Northland tackle also makes a very realistic looking weighted perch swimshad, which works very well, but they are fairly pricey. I would mention swimshads in general seem to work better when you are jigging with a finder, and can reel up when you see a fish closing in. If you don't pull it away from them, and just keep jigging in their face, they seem to lose interest most of the time.

Offline Light liner

• Team IceShanty Maniac
  • Rather be judged by 12 then carried by 6.
« Reply #5 on: Jan 02, 2018, 08:25 AM »
White bucktails, sweedish pimples tipped with cut bait!