New York Ice Fishing sponsored by

Author Topic: Walleye Study on Great Sacandaga Lake  (Read 2171 times)

Offline B-P Fish Club

• IceShanty Rookie
Walleye Study on Great Sacandaga Lake
« on: Feb 16, 2022, 07:10 AM »
Hello fellow fishermen,

My name is Brian Henry and I am a Biology Teacher at Broadalbin-Perth High School. As some of you may know, I started a fishing club at the school a few ago to provide kids with opportunities to fish and create a lifelong hobby. It has gone way better than I could have ever imagined. The level of participation we have seen, as well as, the gracious support from local fishermen and businesses have been amazing!

With that said, I have also been teaching a research class at the school. I have focused our research efforts on the natural resources and the educational opportunities that the Great Sacandaga Lake provides. Because of our proximity to it, the reservoir is an ideal place for Broadalbin-Perth to create a unique experience for our students. As part of my course, students have engaged in the numerous methodologies and protocols associated with research design, data collection, analysis, and report writing. I have had preliminary talks with members of the GSLFF, GSLAC, and the NYSDEC. They are all in favor of establishing scientific studies on the lake to help understand various components of this fishery.