Author Topic: Tecumseh Carburetor Question  (Read 11189 times)

Offline wyogator

• Team IceShanty Maniac
Tecumseh Carburetor Question
« on: Nov 26, 2014, 08:47 PM »
Hey guys, I have a question.  I have a Strikemaster Mag 2000 with the Tecumseh TC300 engine.  I need to rebuild the carburetor, and if that doesn't work, buy a new one.  I think the one I have is a Tillotson.  The part number is 640231.  This model has been replaced with 640231A.  I am not sure what the difference is.  I have heard that the newer model replaced the older one because the plastic fuel inlet was prone to cracking and causing a dangerous fuel leak.  The newer one does have a brass inlet, which seems better.  However, the guy from Jack's Small Engines said that it was replaced due to EPA requirements that new carbs be made non-adjustable, and for this reason, the new carb is crap.  Can someone tell me the correct reason and which one is better.  I would rather not have a carburetor with a cheap plastic fuel inlet.  That would be better that not being able to adjust idle and high speed though.  I was just thinking if the new one is better, I could just get that rather than rebuild the old one.

Offline Idahogator

• Team IceShantyholic
  • Muckeltonian Society
Re: Tecumseh Carburetor Question
« Reply #1 on: Nov 26, 2014, 08:57 PM »
Gator, is this an old unit.
If I may ask?  What have you been running in it to eat the carb so soon ?   Fuel type and oil brand and ratio ?
I have an expert within reach and will want to know those things.    ;)2

Offline wyogator

• Team IceShanty Maniac
« Reply #2 on: Nov 26, 2014, 09:12 PM »