Author Topic: DOWN THE HOLE  (Read 3572 times)

Offline needice

• Team IceShanty Regular
DOWN THE HOLE
« on: Dec 28, 2009, 09:04 PM »
I was setting up my shanty today and put one of the spanner poles in the front up and it was a little loose.This is my first flip-over shanty so I am new to order of things.I said to myself"no problem,put in the other side and then the top spreader will tighten them up".We'll I turn around to put it in and I hear a metal clang behind me"no problem,6 ft pole just fell over,turn around,where that sucker go?,under the tub skirt?,nope.NO way that thing could've,we'll guess what :%$#!: :%$#!:.We'll luckily we were in 10 ft of water and my buddy gets lucky and hooks it with his little jig but in the process snaps his tip off his pole.I am happy/sad at the same time.I thank him and give him 1 of my brand new ice blues.It is amazing how an 8" hole can turn into a 2 footer sometimesLOL

Offline USMarine2001

• Team IceShanty Addict
Re: DOWN THE HOLE
« Reply #1 on: Dec 28, 2009, 09:08 PM »
I don't think this will happen to you again but you can buy the same foam that goes on the flasher cable and put some on the spreader poles just in case, won't weigh much!

Offline Drifter_016

• Iceshanty Militia
  • Team IceShantyholic
« Reply #2 on: Dec 28, 2009, 09:11 PM »
Didn't you know that ice holes are magnetic?    ;D
In the future set up shanty, drill holes and slide shanty into place.
When leaving, slide shanty away from holes and takedown for transport.

Offline Kevin23

• Team IceShantyholic
« Reply #3 on: Dec 28, 2009, 09:21 PM »

I was just going to suggest that. Always set up/take down the shanty away from your holes.
EYECONICFISHING

Offline ice--cube

• Team IceShanty Regular
« Reply #4 on: Dec 28, 2009, 09:22 PM »

I have learned to do this. A couple years ago I lost one of my shacks poles down the hole. I just went and bought a piece of conduet to replace it with.

Offline Lookin Up

• Team IceShanty Regular