Author Topic: Question with tip up walleyes  (Read 3370 times)

Offline StCroice

• IceShanty Rookie
Question with tip up walleyes
« on: Jan 09, 2012, 07:47 PM »
I'm new to the walleye scene through the ice how are most of you guys rigging tip ups for them?  Do you just use a bare hook and minnow or do you use a jig head?  Any advice is appreciated!

Bullelk34

Re: Question with tip up walleyes
« Reply #1 on: Jan 09, 2012, 09:07 PM »
I use a small (#8-6) treble, and I use a spiderwire leader. Set 6"-12" off bottom.

Offline Vtgooseman

• Team IceShanty Addict
  • Take em'
« Reply #2 on: Jan 12, 2012, 03:07 PM »
I rig my tip ups with 30lb Dacron trolling line to a barell swivel, then a 12lb Maxima leader or 12lb Fireline in dirty water.  Leader is then tied to a #4 Red Octopus hook.  Ill put a small split shot mid way down the leader.  Pretty simple but it works.  Keep as little weight on your line as possible, just enough to get your bait to bottom.  If you load your leader up with an OZ of weight they will feel the resistance and in most cases drop it.

Offline eyesntightlines

• IceShanty Rookie
  • Beer on the ice is always nice!
« Reply #3 on: Jan 13, 2012, 10:21 PM »
If you can use live minnows that's the way to go, some areas allow it and some don't for bait!

Offline gloveless

• IceShanty Rookie
« Reply #4 on: Jan 14, 2012, 08:47 PM »
What size minnows are recomended? The avg. size that I catch in the summer are 20" on lures though.

Offline Woodsman0311

• IceShanty Rookie
« Reply #5 on: Jan 16, 2012, 10:05 PM »
Ive always used a 3"-4" minnow for Walleyes and Pike both. But that's summer water, so I'm not sure if its a direct relationship to under the ice.

Offline Capt J

• Team IceShanty Maniac
« Reply #6 on: Jan 17, 2012, 10:22 AM »
I like a single hook, a #6 or so with a walleye minnow.

Offline AT3NCION

• Team IceShanty Regular
« Reply #7 on: Jan 17, 2012, 12:17 PM »