The ice fishing ME board is sponsored by:
Visit Dags visit derby website

Author Topic: Mr Buddy Heater  (Read 1127 times)

Offline Fatcat

• Team IceShanty Regular
Mr Buddy Heater
« on: Jan 11, 2009, 05:26 AM »
I have a Mr Buddy Heater that the pilot wont stay lit. It looks like the flame is yellow and larger or taller instead of the smaller blue flame it usually has. blue. Anyone have this problem? It looks like there is no adjustment . It worked great one day and this happened the next. Is there a way to clean the pilot without taking the thing apart or to a shop?
Maine . 200lb Bucks & 6lb Brookies  !!!!!

Offline Mainehazmt

• Iceshanty Militia
  • Team IceShantyholic
Re: Mr Buddy Heater
« Reply #1 on: Jan 11, 2009, 07:19 AM »
try blowing the piolot lite hole with compressed air  sounds like some dust  blocking one of the lower holes
I am a Veteran Not a Terrorist!

Offline livinbass

• Team IceShanty Maniac
« Reply #2 on: Jan 11, 2009, 07:25 AM »
use a pin to clean it out but if you only used it once it shouldnt be blocked ???

Offline greenhorn

• IceShanty Rookie
« Reply #3 on: Jan 11, 2009, 07:41 AM »
I have a Mr.Heater Workes very good. Maybe your thermo coupler is the problem,due to the pilot not staying lit.You can get them at home depot or lowes.Just a thought

Offline Sir Landsalot

• IceShanty Rookie
« Reply #4 on: Jan 11, 2009, 07:43 AM »
I had the same problem after I hooked mine up to a 20 lb tank, and I had to send it back.  They replaced it and said to use a filter on any tank but the disposables.  I still have trouble in cold weather, but it works great in the summertime    ;D

Offline MikeMunn

• Team IceShanty Addict
  • Flag!
« Reply #5 on: Jan 11, 2009, 08:36 AM »
try blowing the piolot lite hole with compressed air  sounds like some dust  blocking one of the lower holes
This is what I'd do as well.  I've had mine for 4 years now, and never a problem.

Offline ICEMAN-73

• Team IceShanty Addict
« Reply #6 on: Jan 11, 2009, 10:54 AM »