Author Topic: Clam 5600  (Read 19126 times)

pokemon

Clam 5600
« on: Nov 17, 2003, 06:04 PM »
Can anyone give me the good and bad about this shanty I have been fishing the shapell 2000 for a couple of years and would like to upgrade to a larger shanty. One I could at least stand up in. I am about to purchase one in the next day or two so any help would be great.

Wables

Re:Clam 5600
« Reply #1 on: Nov 17, 2003, 10:15 PM »
Whether or not this is a good shack depends on how you fish.  It is one of the more comfortable shacks I have fished out of for two guys, and it is well build.  The problem I had (sold mine this year) was that it was tough to set up in the wind, and wasn't real mobile.  It is definitely not a run and gun shack, but it will make a great base camp for watching tipups.  I bought an Otter Lodge for this year.  I think it will make me more mobile and catch me more fish.  If you are looking for a flat floor, tent style, this is not a bad choice.

Offline HEADHUNTER

• IceShanty Rookie
  • Praying for 3 more weeks of ice!
« Reply #2 on: Nov 18, 2003, 01:45 AM »
I own the same Shappell.  It was a hand me down from some friends of mine that bought fishtrap pros.  I just purchased the 2 man fishtrap guide...looking forward to it.  Lots of room but you cant stand up. THey obviously are made for easy set up and take down.

Offline rksolid

• IceShanty Rookie
  • Hardwater Nut!
« Reply #3 on: Nov 18, 2003, 09:15 AM »
I purchased on two years ago and love.  It is hard to set up in wind but any type of ice house that design is when it's windy.  Only room for two, it can get tight when two fisherman with gear are in it.  I would of went bigger but the 5600 was just the right size to haul in the back of my avalance.  Once ice fishing starts my gear goes in the back and stays there till season is over.  

AdkGuidesForHire

« Reply #4 on: Nov 19, 2003, 01:00 AM »