Author Topic: Best Fillet Knife??  (Read 4682 times)

Offline hole_hopper454

• Team IceShanty Regular
Best Fillet Knife??
« on: Jan 17, 2017, 02:16 PM »
What does everyone out there use?  I've been using a cheap ($5) Rapala 6" fillet knife for over 10 years and it does the job.  I would like to buy something a little better, maybe a 5" knife for around $20 - $30.  Would like something that is flexible and holds an edge long enough for filleting 20 bluegills.  Right now I have to touch up my knife every 7 fish or so. I was looking at the Outdoor Edge fillet knife but it is a folding knife, not sure if I would like that and how it effects its flexibility.

Offline Bartb

• Team IceShanty Regular
Re: Best Fillet Knife??
« Reply #1 on: Jan 17, 2017, 02:26 PM »
Rapala heavy duty electric fillet knife.  I use it on everything from 18" walleye to 8" gills. 
I fish a lot....I catch a little.

Offline Dave R

• Team IceShanty Addict
« Reply #2 on: Jan 17, 2017, 02:32 PM »
For years, I used either a Mister Twister electric, or a Coleman Stainless 7". This year for Christmas, my wife bought me a Wusthof Fillet knife and I really, really like it. But is it the best? Don't know.

Offline MichiganMan

• Team IceShanty Regular
« Reply #3 on: Jan 17, 2017, 02:45 PM »
I made the same move as you're looking to make. I tried several kinds. I've been very happy with mine for several years now.  Morakniv is what you're looking for. Google it or just look on amazon.
It's more important to be nice, than it is nice to be important.

Offline rbobby

• Team IceShanty Regular
« Reply #4 on: Jan 17, 2017, 02:47 PM »
Leach lake, hands down.

Offline Huntindave

• Team IceShanty Addict
« Reply #5 on: Jan 17, 2017, 02:50 PM »
I really like this one made by Rada Knives.  http://www.radacutlery.com/kitchen-knives/hunting/fillet-knife  Holds an edge well and has the right amount of flex IMHO.  I have a Leech Lake knife as well and I'll choose the Rada knife over the Leech more often than not.