The ice fishing PA boards are sponsored by:

Author Topic: Where would you fish??  (Read 1075 times)

Offline jchab412

• IceShanty Rookie
Where would you fish??
« on: Dec 05, 2016, 06:26 PM »
Hey fellas, so im gonna be staying at my uncles cabin for a weekend once we get some good ice. He lives in utica pa right on french creek,about 10 mins from franklin. I know there is a bunch of lakes within an hour of his place, only question is which one to fish? Mainly looking to catch panfish and bass, but ill take whatever, just lookin for some good action.any help/advice is much appreciated!!

Offline Buttonbuckslayer!

• Team IceShanty Regular
Re: Where would you fish??
« Reply #1 on: Dec 05, 2016, 06:44 PM »
I'd hit a bunch of different lakes.  I'd probably hit with lake Arthor, Pymatuming and Presquile depending on conditions.

Offline jchab412

• IceShanty Rookie
« Reply #2 on: Dec 05, 2016, 07:04 PM »
I've only started ice fishing 2 winters ago so im still fairly new to it all. Ive done most of my fishing at arthur and ive done ok there. Pymy is intriguing, only fished it a couple times in open water.

Offline Nate9292

• IceShanty Rookie
« Reply #3 on: Dec 05, 2016, 07:23 PM »
Lake Arthur, Kahle Lake, Two Mile Run. I enjoy Lake Arthur the most, but all are good lakes.

Offline slider

• Team IceShanty Maniac
  • Hardwater Nut!
« Reply #4 on: Dec 05, 2016, 08:03 PM »

To figureout the different locations get a decent map
If you keep an eye on Lake Arthur posts  you can pretty much see where the crowds are fishing
And most of all there is Usually regulars to the lake will be more than happy to help you out

Offline TIME2FISH

• Team IceShanty Regular
« Reply #5 on: Dec 05, 2016, 09:04 PM »
Lake Wilhelm is the closest one to try, about 9 or 10 miles from Utica. "The 1,680-acre Lake Wilhelm is a warmwater fishery. Common species are largemouth bass, walleye, crappie, muskellunge, bluegill, catfish, perch and sunfish," - according to the PA DCNR.