Author Topic: do you need a guide to ice fish lake erie after the ice is thick?  (Read 2595 times)

Offline Pa Teeny

• IceShanty Rookie
I want to ice fish lake Erie in late January or February and have been debating with myself about getting a guide...or to just follow the trail and try different spots that are being used. 

I have most of the equipment and just wanted to try something different this winter....I am a teacher by trade but I plow snow before and after school for mad money to buy toys....as  we usually get 100-140" of snow...

cold weather I am used to....we have 3 sleds and a trailer that can haul 5 sleds.

Question....Did you go with a guide your first time on lake Erie or just tried it?

Thanks..PA Teeny

Offline GOTICE?

• Team IceShanty Regular
The first time and everytime after that we just  followed the crowd. It looks like a small town when the ice is good. Never had any problem but with Erie safety is the key word. Just remember to give yourself plenty of time to get off the ice at the end of the day. Also a gps or something along that line is very helpful.  There are times a snow storm will blow in and make visibility a problem. Let me know if you have any more questoins.

Offline quack

• Team IceShanty Regular
My first time we just headed for the crowd and fished near the shanty towns. Just do your research, know the weather and be aware of changing conditions. Keep moving till you find fish. Pray for old man winter to actually show up this season!
Funniest thing about ice fishing for me is when people who know nothing about ice activities try to warn me about the dangers of the ice...

Offline stampman60

• IceShanty Rookie