The ice fishing Michigan board sponsored by:

Sponsor this board

Author Topic: I'm new to Michigan and ice fishing  (Read 1550 times)

Offline Goodrichguy

• IceShanty Rookie
I'm new to Michigan and ice fishing
« on: Nov 22, 2015, 08:03 PM »
Looking for a person to show me the ins and outs of ice fishing. I would like to be able to take my kids and be safe doing it. I just moved from Cincinnati to Goodrich Michigan and have a lot of good stuff to learn.

Offline 3300

• Iceshanty Mod Team
  • Team IceShantyholic
  • Michigan Moderator.Not affiliated with MarCum Tech
Re: I'm new to Michigan and ice fishing
« Reply #1 on: Nov 22, 2015, 08:09 PM »
welcome!
we have tons of info for you. it will be overwhelming for a while.

here's what i posted not long ago for some one just like you.
http://www.iceshanty.com/ice_fishing/index.php?topic=319377.msg3360880#msg3360880

as said, all ice is not to be trusted or is unsafe. that being said, think about floatation ice suits at least for the adult.
http://www.strikerstore.com/default.asp
not sure how old the other two are, but at least think about the suits for them too. teach them how to get out of a break thru. show them you tube videos and have the emergency spikes for every one. main thing is to not panic even tho it hasn't happened yet. you could practice near shore.
new ice is slippery and so slip protection will be needed to stay safer too on your boots. i use ice racing screws on 4 pairs of boots. then i have them all of the time, not just on lakes. ice and hard packed snow is every where in winter. otherwise buy some thing temp like kahtoolas.
http://kahtoola.com/product/microspikes/