Author Topic: Which auger to buy  (Read 2538 times)

Offline 43.69375-97.188485

• IceShanty Rookie
Which auger to buy
« on: Nov 15, 2015, 12:40 PM »
I am trying to decide between the Jiffy Pro 4 propane and the Strikemaster Lazer Pro Ice. Any experience with either would be helpful.

Offline royjulius

• Team IceShanty Maniac
  • Top 5 Pike:14-5,15-5,15-10,17-0,18-4, 2B cont.
Re: Which auger to buy
« Reply #1 on: Nov 16, 2015, 01:10 PM »
If I were starting out fresh I would go electric and get an Ion. But since that wasn't on your list I would go for the SM Lazer. I have one of the old 4 blade Lazer 224s and it is a beast for 2hp. I don't know anything about the propanes except that they are heavy.  :tipup: :tipup: :tipup:

Offline chrispeters

• IceShanty Rookie
« Reply #2 on: Nov 17, 2015, 02:28 PM »
I just bought the jiffy pro 4 8" for this year. All the reviews I have read are 50/50 it starts great in the shop but I have no experience with it yet. The machine is very quiet so that's good. It does sound like everything is going battery or propane. I am looking forward to it. I just wanted something easy for my wife to start. 

• IceShanty Rookie
« Reply #3 on: Nov 17, 2015, 05:45 PM »
I think I am going to buy the strikemaster.  I have read too many bad reviews on the jiffy.  I am not convinced the batteries will hold up on an electric. I have too many battery power tools that don't hold a charge very well in the cold.  I think if I am going to drill a lot of holes the 3 horse engine and being 8 pounds lighter gives a big advantage to the strikemaster over the jiffy. Even if I have to mix gas and carry a gas can. Thanks for the help.

Offline alanderson

• IceShanty Rookie
« Reply #4 on: Nov 17, 2015, 07:41 PM »