The ice fishing Michigan board sponsored by:

Sponsor this board

Author Topic: Sonar newbie here  (Read 3109 times)

Offline steelheader32

• Team IceShanty Regular
Sonar newbie here
« on: Sep 22, 2015, 08:13 AM »
In the closing weeks of summer I've been thinking about picking up an ice fishing sonar for this season, I've never owned one but in the past I have used a fl-8 and and also have used a marcum 2.0 troller , things I like about each are they both showed my jigvery well, the marcum had a nice steady mark while the vex was flickering in and out, messed with the sensitivity a little with no help, I also like how the marcum reads vertically instead of around like a typical flasher unit, but also like how the standard color flashers have different colors for position of fish under you, red yellow green and so on, so my question is for you guys, what do you recommend , take in consideration I normally fish in about 10-25fow with the exception of gull lake where I'm in about 35-80fow, I'd like to ins a unit that can do well in both conditions, not looking to break the bank here an not looking for gps or anything like that on my unit, thoughts on the marcum 5.6 dual beam? I heard it's pretty decent. And I know this entire subject has been Beaton to death in previous threads bit new products come out each year and I'm not exactly up to date on all the electronics hype, thanks in advance guys! Hope to hear some good advise!

Offline 3300

• Iceshanty Mod Team
  • Team IceShantyholic
  • Michigan Moderator.Not affiliated with MarCum Tech
Re: Sonar newbie here
« Reply #1 on: Sep 22, 2015, 08:45 AM »
couple things, you didn't mention if you fish in the dark with plankton and what size jigs you want to use down deep.