Author Topic: What do you set your LX-7 on or in seeing a 5 gal pail is too small ?  (Read 990 times)

Offline arrow2968

• IceShanty Rookie
Give me some ideas guys !

Offline arrow2968

• IceShanty Rookie
22 views and not one idea. This is the same site that turned my buddy heater into a cooking machine. And please dont make me ask Smitty.

Offline Mr. Freeze Miser

• Team IceShanty Regular
I use a square pail and the unit fits fine in it and on top of it... I have been using this set-up for 3 years and have no issues with my unit. I line the bottom with a piece of foam and  i cut a piece of foam for the top when it sits in the bucket for travel.  I bought mine from US Plastics...look up square pail...5 Gallon Pail 11-3/4" Sq. x 14-5/8" H...lid is purchased separately   

Offline Fishin2

• IceShanty Rookie
restaurants usually get mayonnaise in square bucket with lids, ask a few of em, a kitty litter bucket works well too, not round, won't roll as easy !!

Offline arrow2968

• IceShanty Rookie
Thanks guys I knew you wouldnt let me down.

Offline staggerin

• Team IceShanty Addict
I'm building an arm that mounts to the seat of my otter lodge. Hopefully its strong enough to support my lx-9
Look at me I can walk on water

Offline buz23

• Team IceShanty Addict
If its not too cold I put my LX-7 on one side or the other of a front shelf I put on my Smitty.  I bring the sled right next to the hole and drop the puck in.

If its snowy this doesn't work too well because the skis get fouled from being on the water near the hole.  In this case I have a smaller kitty litter bucket with a lid.  My tackle goes inside the bucket, but the LX-7 sits on top just right and doesn't get wet and messy from being on the ice.

Offline ship of fools

• Team IceShanty Maniac
Somebody has to say it .... sell it and buy a vex that fits on a 5 gallon pail    ;D
Goin' where the wind don't blow so strange,
Maybe off on some high cold mountain chain.

Offline 3300

• Team IceShantyholic