Author Topic: Keeping my Lowrance 4x HDI reading properly during the day...  (Read 820 times)

Offline ahalls

• IceShanty Rookie
Hi. I have started using my Lowrance 4X HDI this winter ( have previously just used in on my boat) - paired with the ice kit from Lowrance that comes with the ice transducer. My issue seems to be that when i get the settings right to see my jig, the bottom and fish - it doesn't  seem to "hold" even though I am using the same hole for a big chunk of the day. I find it is working well for a while- then I seem to lose the clarity/signal and have to play around with my sensitivity and colour line in an attempt to get it "back". It seems quite inconsistent. I'm most often fishing in 60-110 FOW.  Wondered if anyone else has experienced this and if anyone has any tips or advice? I'm an admitted amateur at setting up a FF for ice fishing... Thanks!

Offline Pantucci

• IceShanty Rookie
Re: Keeping my Lowrance 4x HDI reading properly during the day...
« Reply #1 on: Feb 26, 2015, 08:06 AM »
I use the same FF, with the ice transducer.  I've had it go a little wonky now and again, sometimes the transducers get jostled -- I just pulled up the transducer and repositioned it, that seemed to do the trick. 

Offline matzilla

• Team IceShanty Maniac
« Reply #2 on: Feb 26, 2015, 10:23 AM »
make sure auto depth is turned off if possible...that should help. Bouncing the transducer a couple of times always works

Catchin' Fish

Offline ahalls

• IceShanty Rookie
« Reply #3 on: Feb 26, 2015, 05:20 PM »
thanks for the tips guys- will keep them in mind when next out.....

Offline fishon35

• Team IceShanty Addict
« Reply #4 on: Feb 26, 2015, 07:29 PM »