The ice fishing North Dakota board is sponsored by:

Author Topic: Crappie/Bluegills?  (Read 4071 times)

Offline c_becker11

• IceShanty Rookie
Crappie/Bluegills?
« on: Dec 16, 2014, 02:22 PM »
Any one have success finding these little buggers early ice? No need to give away locations, I'm just curious as to what you use to get them and in what FOW. I'm relatively new to the panfish game and wouldn't mind some pointers! Thanks,

Offline corny13

• Team IceShanty Addict
Re: Crappie/Bluegills?
« Reply #1 on: Dec 16, 2014, 09:24 PM »
Went gill and crappie fishing last weekend, practicing form the NAIFC tourney this weekend.   Just like anyplace else...Green weeds...deep holes....drop offs near both of the above.  Jason Mitchell had a good show on early gills and crappies in Mn a few weeks ago, check it out.  Drill lots of hole till you find em usually suspended off the bottom.  Micro jigs with plastic worked great as well as tungsten with waxes or spikes...

Offline c_becker11

• IceShanty Rookie
« Reply #2 on: Dec 17, 2014, 06:54 AM »
 :tipup: Thanks so much! From your experience, does artificial work better than live bait? I was considering using some small minnows on micro jigs...does it even pay?

Offline corny13

• Team IceShanty Addict
« Reply #3 on: Dec 17, 2014, 07:12 AM »
Depends upon the day and the lake ....last weekend Saturday afternoon it was all live bait (waxies)  Sunday the plastics out fished the bait..? Crappies like small minnows even on a plain hook  at times.

Offline c_becker11

• IceShanty Rookie
« Reply #4 on: Dec 17, 2014, 12:19 PM »
Sorry for all the dumb questions, I'm new to the panfish game. Do you mean wax worms for live bait? Do I just buy anyone of those waxies like Gulp brand? When you say plastics, which ones seem to work the best? Thanks again! Good luck at your tourney this weekend!

Offline thorson

• Team IceShanty Regular
« Reply #5 on: Dec 17, 2014, 03:41 PM »