The Iceshanty Ice Auger Board is sponsored by
Nils Master Authorized Sharpening Service

Author Topic: Jiffy versus Eskimo  (Read 2731 times)

Offline druthrbfishn

• Team IceShanty Regular
  • Waitin for the freeze!!
Jiffy versus Eskimo
« on: Dec 04, 2014, 09:29 PM »
I was at Cabelas tonight and bought a new Eskimo propane auger. I had intentions of buying a Jiffy but changed my mind. The salesman told me the Jiffy would throw more ice chips and water with the chipper blade vs Eskimo's shaver blade. Does this make sense? I have a Strikemaster which is not bad about ice and water in a permanent. I am tempted to swap the Eskimo for a Jiffy tomorrow. The idea of Eskimo being new to propane concerns me. What does everyone think, Jiffy or Eskimo?

Offline Idahogator

• Team IceShantyholic
  • Muckeltonian Society
Re: Jiffy versus Eskimo
« Reply #1 on: Dec 04, 2014, 09:42 PM »
You may enjoy looking over a word or so about Eskimos'.

Your choice :   You may want to go to the end (page 123) to find some opinions on the propane engine.

http://www.iceshanty.com/ice_fishing/index.php?topic=152698.0

Offline FourEyes

• IceShanty Rookie
« Reply #2 on: Dec 04, 2014, 09:42 PM »
Are you going to be reopening holes in a permy?  If so, you'll want the chipper blade.

Offline pfscott

• Team IceShanty Addict
« Reply #3 on: Dec 05, 2014, 07:28 AM »
I've used my Quantum 10" Eskimo to reopen my holes quite often, it works ok. All I remember of my cousin's Jiffy was him always having wet legs. It seemed his auger threw a lot of water. Just going on years ago memory tho.

Offline motocross269

• Team IceShanty Regular
« Reply #4 on: Dec 05, 2014, 08:36 AM »