The Dark House Spearing board is sponsored by:

Author Topic: Ice saw question  (Read 7309 times)

Offline Cannonball87

• IceShanty Rookie
Ice saw question
« on: Dec 03, 2014, 05:35 PM »
Hello,

I'm relatively new to darkhouse spearing (just started last winter) and I'm looking into buying an ice saw. After going out several times with nothing but an auger and a chisel, it didn't take me long to figure out that a saw is probably the best way to go when the ice gets thick. I did use a saw that I borrowed last year a couple of times and it seemed to get caught up alot. Maybe it was dull but I'm not sure. Anyway, I've been researching ice saws quite a bit lately and have seen some antique ice saws that people used to use when they harvested ice commercially. Just by looking at them online, it seems to me that they'd work quite a bit better than the modern ice saws you see for sale. They cut both on the up and down stroke, their teeth aren't as aggressive and have a more user friendly grip on them. Some of these antique saws can be had for only $50 to $100 more than a modern ice saw. My question is, has anybody used one of these old style ice saws to cut a spear hole? If so, how did it work? And I was wondering if anybody makes these anymore?

Offline Idahogator

• Team IceShantyholic
  • Muckeltonian Society
Re: Ice saw question
« Reply #1 on: Dec 03, 2014, 05:41 PM »
First things first, Welcome to Iceshanty, Cannonball87.   

Hm, I will guess you're not in Norway, for you would most likely have an ice saw. 

Not tryin' to pin you down, Sir. Neither do I want your address, ha.

To aid your "Research" , here's a link :     http://www.icesaw.com/

Offline Cannonball87

• IceShanty Rookie
« Reply #2 on: Dec 03, 2014, 05:54 PM »
Ha, nope not in Norway. Thanks for the link though, I'll check it out!

Offline Idahogator

• Team IceShantyholic
  • Muckeltonian Society
« Reply #3 on: Dec 03, 2014, 06:21 PM »