Author Topic: New to Canada, Need help Finding a place to fish  (Read 2671 times)

Offline bassin212

• Team IceShanty Maniac
New to Canada, Need help Finding a place to fish
« on: Dec 01, 2014, 10:12 AM »
Hi everyone I'm new to Ice Shanty and have never been to Canada before. I am trying to book a ice fishing trip with three other friends in Ontario want to spend no more than $300 per person for the trip. I was hoping someone could give me some recommendations or might have heard of some of the places on my current list. We will be driving from New Hampshire! (United States) So far I'm considering Big Moose Camp (Lake Nosbonsing), Birch Hill Camp (lake Nosbonsing), A cottage on Lake Simcoe, Barry's Bay Cottage (Carson Lake), and Springwood Cottages (Kennebec Lake). Any advice, comments, and recommendations are welcome! Thank you!
Tight Lines!

Offline Woodsman

• Team IceShanty Addict
Re: New to Canada, Need help Finding a place to fish
« Reply #1 on: Dec 01, 2014, 11:59 AM »
If going to Lake Nosbonsing stay at either Birch Hill or Cozy Camp.
Never ice fished the lake but have fished it many times. Both of these places are great.
As for Big Moose Camp I've not stayed there but have met their guests many times when they came to Cozy Camp (beside Big Moose) mistaking it for part of Big Moose to check-in as no one was at Big Moose. Local reports have the owner at the local Legion Sat afternoon during prime check-in time.
As for Simcoe it's a big lake. Some area's better than others with some freezing far better than other places.
What kind of outfitter are you looking for?
Just cottage?
Cottage plus hut & transportation?
Cottage plus hut, meals & transportation?
On ice over night hut & transportation?
Also what type of fish do you prefer?

Living proof that "beer builds better bellies"

Offline Woodsman

• Team IceShanty Addict
« Reply #2 on: Dec 01, 2014, 12:19 PM »
Also when do you plan your trip for?