Author Topic: Tradition  (Read 804 times)

Offline Cousteau

• Team IceShanty Regular
Tradition
« on: Nov 23, 2014, 09:53 PM »
My ice fishing buddy and I have been fishing together for 34 years.  Many things have changed in the sport and in life.  The very first time we ice fished together we had a block of cheese, pepperoni, pepperoncini peppers, Dr. McGuillicutty, and Coors Light, a radio, as well as other things.  But to this day, we still bring these listed items.  These are supplemented by whatever meal we bring or cook.  Its almost a superstition now.  Any other stories about your tradition or things you don't really need but "must have"?

Offline masoneddie

• Team IceShantyholic
  • lay bricks or go fishing...doh!!
Re: Tradition
« Reply #1 on: Nov 24, 2014, 02:23 AM »
Traditions are a great thing.....good story!  :thumbsup:
My fishing/hunting partner and I are on our 37th year this year. I guess as far as Icefishing, our traditional meal is always a venison dish of some kind.
We traditionally hunt the same area his dad brought us to every year on State Land.....and it still produces!  ;D

Offline rgfixit

• IceShanty Mod Team
  • Team IceshantyInsanity
« Reply #2 on: Nov 24, 2014, 03:15 AM »
My partner and fishing mentor, "The Old Man" and I meet at his restaurant and make the "fishing sandwiches".

They're generally comprised of about 24oz of ham, onion, pepper, provolone, and whatever else seems right. They're near impossible to get a bite of, but somehow we manage.  ;D

I make the soup the day before. It's usually nap time after lunch.

Rg
"Did you ever get the feeling that the world was a tuxedo and you were a pair of brown shoes?"

Offline Whopper Stopper

• Team IceshantyInsanity
« Reply #3 on: Nov 24, 2014, 03:51 AM »
Good thread!  :thumbsup:

WS

Offline blitzfish

• Team IceShanty Regular
  • Born to fish, forced to work.
« Reply #4 on: Nov 24, 2014, 04:53 AM »